Notifications

New Victory Blog

The New Victory Blog is a place to learn more about New York's theater for families and the shows we produce. Find out what we do and what we're passionate about—exploring the arts as a family.
May 15, 2017

8 Books for Fans of Grug!


With Grug and the Rainbow closing our 2016-17 Season, we were inspired by Grug—the top of a burrawang tree—and the charming book series that follows his adventures. Have you already read all of the Grug books out there? We've got you covered. Here's a list of books for ages 2-5 that are perfect to read over, and over again!
 
Cloth Lullaby Cloth Lullaby: The Woven Life of Louise Bourgeois by Amy Novesky and Isabelle Arsenault

Louise Bourgeois was a world-renowned modern artist and her mother wove tapestries. Louise spent her childhood in France as her mother's apprentice, before she became a tapestry artist herself. 

This biographical picture book shows how Bourgeois's childhood experience of weaving with her loving, nurturing mother provided the inspiration for her most famous works. With a beautifully nuanced and poetic story, this book stunningly captures the relationship between mother and daughter and illuminates how memories are woven into us all.
The Wonderful Things You Will Be The Wonderful Things You Will Be by Emily Winfield Martin

From brave and bold to creative and clever, Emily Winfield Martin's rhythmic rhyme expresses all the loving things that parents think of when they look at their children. With beautiful, and sometimes humorous, illustrations this is a book grown-ups will love reading over and over to kids. The Wonderful Things You Will Be has a loving and truthful message that resonates with everyone—both young and old. 
I Dissent I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark by Debbie Levy and Elizabeth Baddeley

Get to know celebrated Supreme Court justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg in the first picture book about her life, as she proves that disagreeing does not make you disagreeable!

Supreme Court justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg has spent a lifetime disagreeing: disagreeing with inequality, arguing against unfair treatment and standing up for what's right. This biographical picture book about Ginsburg, tells the justice's story through the lens of her many famous dissents and disagreements.
Giraffe's Can't Dance Giraffes Can't Dance by Giles Andreae and Guy Parker-Rees

Giraffes Can't Dance is a touching tale of Gerald the giraffe, who wants nothing more than to dance. With crooked knees and thin legs, it's harder for a giraffe than you would think. Gerald is finally able to dance to his own tune after he gets some encouraging words from an unlikely friend.

With light-footed rhymes and high-stepping illustrations, this tale is gentle inspiration for every child who dreams of greatness.
The Day the Crayons Quit The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing—his crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking—each believes he is the true color of the sun.

What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?
Dragons Love Tacos Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin and Daniel Salmieri

Dragons love tacos. They love chicken tacos, beef tacos, great big tacos and teeny tiny tacos. So if you want to lure a bunch of dragons to your party, you should definitely serve tacos. Buckets and buckets of tacos. Unfortunately, where there are tacos, there is also salsa. And if a dragon accidentally eats spicy salsa...oh, boy. You're in red-hot trouble.

This deliciously funny read-aloud will make you laugh until spicy salsa comes out of your nose!
If Animals Kissed Good Night If Animals Kissed Good Night by Ann Whitford Paul and David Walker

In a cozy bedtime chat with her mom, a young girl wonders how animal families might say good night. Would Wolf and his pup "kiss and then HOWL"? Would Bear and her cub "kiss and then GROWL"? But what about Sloth and her baby? They move soooo slooowwwww, they're sure to be kissing from early evening until long after everyone else is fast asleep!

With whimsical art and playful rhyming verse, this picture book is perfect for bedtime snuggles.
The Book With No Pictures The Book with No Pictures by B. J. Novak

A book with no pictures? What could be fun about that? After all, if a book has no pictures, there's nothing to look at, but the words on the page. Words that might make you say silly sounds...in ridiculous voices!

At once disarmingly simple and ingeniously imaginative, The Book With No Pictures inspires laughter every time it is opened, creating a warm and joyous experiecne to introduce young children to the powerful idea that the written word can be an unending source of mischief and delight. 
 
 
Grug and the Rainbow See Grug and the Rainbow with your family before Grug is off on his next adventure. Grab your tickets today!
 
Posted by Beth Henderson
Tags: 2016-17
Comments
Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
 Security code